Independence Day (India)

“Fifteenth of August” redirects here. For the date, see 15 August.

Independence Day of India
The National Flag of India hoisted at the Red Fort in Delhi; hoisted flags are a common sight on Independence Day.
Observed by India
SignificanceCommemorates the independence of India
CelebrationsFlag hoisting, parade, fireworks, singing patriotic songs and the National Anthem Jana Gana Mana, speech by the Prime Minister of India and President of India
Date15 August
First time15 August 1947
Related toRepublic Day
Part of a series on the
History of India
Early medieval[show]
Late medieval[show]
Early modern[show]
Related articles[show]

Independence Day is celebrated annually on 15 August as a national holiday in India commemorating the nation’s independence from the United Kingdom on 15 August 1947, the day when the provisions of the Indian Independence Act 1947, which transferred legislative sovereignty to the Indian Constituent Assembly, came into effect. India retained King George VI as head of state until its transition to a full republic, and the Constitution of India 1950 replaced the dominion prefix, Dominion of India, with the enactment of the sovereign law Constitution of India. India attained independence following the Independence Movement noted for largely non-violent resistance and civil disobedience.